Marketing Retarget Pixel

ARD Leadership Profiles

  • (Click names to review C.V.s)

    Officers of the ARD when it was incorporated in the state of South Carolina on May 28, 1979 were:

    Dr. Ocleris Simpson of Prairie View A&M University, ARD Chair
    Dr. Howard Robinson of North Carolina A&T State University, ARD Vice Chair
    Dr. Handy Williamson of Tennessee State University, ARD Secretary/Treasurer


    Research Directors
    Alabama A&M University 
    (Prior to Winfred Thomas, the role of research and extension oversight was taken on by the presidents
    William Hooper Councill (University Founder and President) 1875-1909
    Walter Solomon Buchanan (Second President) 1909-1920
    Perry C. Parks (Director of Agriculture) 1909-1920
    Theophilus Robert Parker (Third President) 1920-1927
    Joseph Fanning Drake (Fourth President) 1927-1962
    Simon Haley (Director of Agriculture) 1932-
    Richard David Morrison (Director of Agriculture and then Fifth President) 1937-1962, 1962-1984
    Winfred A. Thomas (Director of Research) 1968-1977
    James W. Shuford  (Associate Dean for Research) 1977-1994
    McArthur Floyd (Associate Dean and Research Director) 1994-2007
    Zachary N. Senwo (Interim Research Director) 2007-2011
    Lloyd T. Walker (Interim Dean and Research Director) 2011-2013
    Lloyd T. Walker Dean and Research Director 2013 - present
    Alabama  --Tuskegee University Research Directors
    George W. Carver (deceased) 1896-1942
    Austin W. Curtis (deceased) 1943-1945
    Russell Brown (deceased) 1945-1957
    Clarence T. Mason (deceased) 1958-1961
    B.D. Mayberry (deceased) 1962-1982
    Bobby Phills 1882-1985
    Ralph Noble (Interim) 1985-1986
    Walter Hill 1986-Present
    Tuskegee University Associate Research Directors  
    James Allen 1983-1985
    Conrad Bonsi 1987 - Present
    Arkansas - University of Arkansas Pine Bluff Research Directors  
    R.C. Davis and O.R. Holiday Coordinators of Research 1967-1971
    S.J. Parker (deceased) 1971-1982
    Arthur L. Allen 1982-1989
    Mazo Price 1989-1995
    Jacquelyn McCray 1995-2008
    James O. Garner 2008-2015
    Edmund Buckner (see resume from link below) 2015 - present
    University of Arkansas Pine Bluff Associate Research Directors
    Jacquelyn McCray 1989-1995
    James O. Garner 2001-2008
    Edmund R. Buckner 2008-2015
    Delaware State University Research Directors
    U. S. Washington 1970-1992
    Kenneth Bell 1992-2004
    Dyremple Marsh 2004-Present
    Delaware State University Associate Research Directors
    John Graham 2001-2004
    Ambrose Anoruo 2005-2010
    Marikis Alvarez 2010-Present
    Florida A&M University Research Directors/Director of Research Activity
    Benjamin L. Perry (deceased) 1927-1947
    C.E. Walker (deceased) 1948-1969
    Bill Peters (deceased) 1970-1983
    Sunil Pancholy 1983-1997
    Bobby Phills 1997-2003
    Charles Magee (Interim) 2003-2006
    Samuel Donald (Interim) 2006-2008
    Makola Abdullah 2008-2011
    Samuel Donald (Interim) 2011-2012
    Robert W. Taylor 2012-Present
    Florida A&M University Associate Research Directors
    Sunil Pancholy 1997-2009
    Moses T. K. Kairo 2009-2012
    Stephen Leong  
    Georgia - Fort Valley State University Research Directors
    Cozy Ellison 1967-1974
    Ronald K. Abe (Acting Director) 1974-1975
    Ocleris Simpson 1975-1977
    Melvin E. Walker, Jr. 1977-1988
    Charles Magee (Interim Director) 1988-1990
    Melvin E. Walker, Jr. 1990-1998
    Seyoum Gelaye 1998-2003
    Fred Harrison  
    Mack C. Nelson 2004-2007
    Mark Latimore (Interim) 2008-2010
    Govind Kannan (Interim Asst. Dean for Research) 2008-2010
    Govind Kannan  (Interim Dean/Research Director) 2010-2011
    Govind Kannan 2011-Present
    Kentucky State University Research Directors
    William J. Fleming, Sr.  - Director of Community Research Service 1972-1982
    Lionel Williamson  - Research Director 1982-1985
    Harold R. Benson - Director of Land Grant Programs 1976
    Harold R. Benson - Research Director 1985-2011
    Teferi Tsegaye 2011 - 2015
    Kirk Pomper 2015 - present
    Kentucky State University Associate Research Directors
    Robert J. Barney 1988-2010
    Kirk W. Pomper - Assoc. Research Director and Director of Ag. Exp. Station 2012 - present
    Louisiana - Southern University and A&M College 
    Maryland - University of Maryland Eastern Shore Research Directors
    Joseph Wutoh (deceased)  
    C. Dennis Ignasias (deceased) 1973-1983
    Mortimer H. Neufville 1983-1995
     Carolyn B. Brooks  1995-2007
    Gladys Shelton (Acting) 2007-2011
     Jurgen Schwarz (Interim)  2011-2012
    Moses Kairo 2012-Present
    University of Maryland Eastern Shore Associate Research Directors
    Arthur L. Allen 1996-2014
     Shirley Hymon-Parker 1997-2009
    Jurgen Schwarz 2014-present
    Mississippi - Alcorn State University Research Directors
    Jessie Morris 1969-1980
    Johnnie Collins 1980-1986
    Samuel Donald 1986-1993
    Leroy Davis 1993-2001
    Franklin Jackson (V.P. for Institutional Advancement and Interim Research Director) 2001-2008
    Barry Bequette 2009-Present
    Ivory Lyles  
    Alcorn State University Associate Research Directors
    George Bates 1992-2004
    Alton Johnson (Interim) 2009-2012
    Wesley Whittaker (Interim) 2013 - 2014
    Andra Johnson 2014 - present
    Missouri - Lincoln University Research Directors
    Michael Heard 1999-2005
    Steve Meredith 2005 - 2013
    Frieda Eivazi (Interim) 2013
    Yvonne Matthews (Interim) 2013 - present
    Albert Essel  
    Missouri - Lincoln University Associate Research Directors
    Marjorie Campbell 2001 - 2004
    Frieda Eivazi 2008 - 2013
    John Yang (Interim) 2013 - present
    North Carolina A&T State University Research Directors
    Howard Robinson (deceased) 1965-1982
    Sidney Evans (deceased) 1982-1987
    Burleigh Webb 1988-1994
    Daniel Godfrey 1994-2001
    Alton Thompson 2001-2010
    Donald McDowell (Interim) 2010-2011
    William Randle 2011- 2015
    Shirley Hymon-Parker (Interim) see resume from link below 2015 - present
    North Carolina A&T State University Associate Research Directors
    Sidney Evans 1987-1990
    Charles Panton 1990-1999
    M. Ray McKinnie (Interim) 1999-2001
    Carolyn Turner 2001-2008
     Richard Robbins (interim) 2009
     Shirley Hymon-Parker 2009-Present
    Valerie Giddens (Interim) 2015 - present
    Oklahoma - Langston University Research Directors
    South Carolina State University Research Directors  
    Tennessee State University Research Directors
    David Hamilton 1967-1971
    Hazo W. Carter 1972-1975
    Handy Williamson 1975-1985
    Roland Norman 1985-1987
    Troy Wakefield 1987-1995
    Carter Catlin, Jr. (Interim) 1995-1998
    Stephen Kolison 1998-2008
    Chandra Reddy 2008-Present
    Tennessee State University Associate/Assistant Research Directors
    Carter Catlin 1979-1984
    Cater Catlin, Jr. 1992-1995
    Carter Catlin, Jr. 1998- Present
    Texas - Prairie View A&M University Research Directors
    Virginia State University Research Directors
    Earl A. Allgood (deceased) 1969-1972
    Maurice Godley (deceased) 1972-1980
    P.S. Benepal 1980-1990
    Arthur L. Allen 1990-1993
    Winfrey S. Clarke 1993-2006
    Wondi Mersie 2006-Present
    Virginia State University Associate Research Directors
    P.S. Benepal 1990-2001
    Wondi Mersie 2003-2006
    West Virginia State University
    Orlando McMeans 1999- present
    ARD Executive Directors
    Samuel Donald 1993-2006
     Carolyn Brooks 2006-present