Deans, Chairs, and Directors

  • At UMES, departments are grouped into Schools. A Dean heads each School. Listed below are the names of each School, along with the departments located within the School. The Dean for each School and the Chair or Acting/Interim Chair for each department are also listed.  You belong to the School in which your department is located.   

    The Office of Academic Affairs

    Kimberly Whitehead Dr. Kimberly D. Whitehead
    Interim Provost and Vice President 
    Academic Affairs
    (410) 651- 6713
    kdwhitehead@umes.edu
     
     
    Latasha Wade Dr. Latasha Wade
    Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives (interim)
    (410) 651- 6508
    lwade@umes.edu
     

    Directors  

    lane Dr. Michael Lane
    Honors Program
    (410) 621-3070
    melane@umes.edu
    acquah Dr. Emmanuel T. Acquah
    International Programs
    (410) 651 - 6548
    internationl@umes.edu 
    nicole gale Dr. Nicole Gale
    Upward Bound Program
    (410) 651 - 6458
    nlgale@umes.edu   
    dillon Mr. William Dillon
    PGA Golf Management Program
    (410) 738- 6310
     wcdillon@umes.edu  
     
    Instructional Technology / UMES Online
    (410) 651- 7574

    Dr. Angela Williams Dr. Angela Williams
    Center for Access and Academic Success
    (410) 651-8420
    alwilliams3@umes.edu

    School of Agriculture and Natural Sciences

    Kairo Dr. Moses Kairo
    Dean
    (410) 651- 6072
    mkairo@umes.edu
     shwarz 
    Dr. Jurgen Schwarz
    Chair
    Agriculture, Food, and Resource Sciences
    (410) 651- 6168
    jgschwarz@umes.edu   
    Namwamba Dr. Grace Namwamba
    Chair
    Human Ecology
    (410) 651- 6065
    gnamwamba@umes.edu 
    sauder Dr. Deborah Sauder
    Chair
    Natural Sciences
    (410) 651- 6014
    dgsauder@umes.edu 

    School of Education, Social Sciences, and The Arts

      harrington Mr. Christopher Harrington
    Interim Dean
    Fine Arts
    (410) 651- 6487 / 6488
    cjharrington@umes.edu 
      boyd1 Dr. Lorenzo Boyd
    Chair
    Criminal Justice
    (410)651-8482
     lmboyd1@umes.edu
     _40e-DeanCooledge-E_pp.jpg Dr. Dean Cooledge
    Interim Chair
    English
    (410) 651- 6552
     drcooledge@umes.edu
    geleta Dr. Nomsa Geleta
    Chair
    Education
    (410) 651- 6220
    negeleta@umes.edu

    School of Business and Technology

    Dean of Business Dr. Ayodele Julius Alade
    Dean
    (410) 651- 6067
    ajalade@umes.edu      
      DrVichetSum Dr. Vichet Sum
    Chair
    Business Management and Accounting
    (410) 651- 6531
    vsum@umes.edu 
     Dr.-Yuanwei-Jin.jpg Dr. Yuanwei Jin
    Interim Chair
    Engineering and Aviation Sciences
    (410) 651- 6365
    yjin@umes.edu 
    boger Dr. Ernest Boger
    Chair
    Hotel and Tourism Management
    (410) 651- 6563
    epboger@umes.edu 
    johnson Dr. Robert Johnson
    Chair
    Mathematics and Computer Science
    (410) 651- 6422
    rajohnson@umes.edu     
      
    Chair
    Technology
    (410) 651- 6465

    School of Pharmacy and Health Professions  

    Rondall Allen 2 Dr. Rondall Allen
    Dean
    (410) 651- 8350
    reallen@umes.edu  
    talley Dr. William Talley
    Chair 
    Rehabilitation Services
    (410) 651- 6261
    wbtalley@umes.edu   
     Gladwell_01.jpg Dr. Timothy D. Gladwell 
    Associate Dean
    Pharmacy
    (410) 651-8097
    tdgladwell@umes.edu 
    Jim_Photo_Henson_Hall-cropped_02.jpg Dr. James L. Bresette
    Associate Dean 
    Development and External Relations
    (410) 651-8372 
    jlbresette@umes.edu 
    treuth Dr. Margarita Treuth
    Chair
    Kinesiology
    (410) 651- 8141
    mstreuth@umes.edu  
      hsia Dr. Victor Hsia
    Chair
    Pharmaceutical Sciences
    (410)-651-8491
    vhsia@umes.edu 
     purnell Dr. Miriam Purnell
    Assistant Dean
    Pharmacy, Student Affairs
    (410) 621- 3777 
    mcpurnell@umes.edu  
     rabel Dr. Michael Rabel
    Chair
    Physical Therapy
    (410) 651- 6465
    mcrabel@umes.edu
     Bill-Harbester-Pharm Dr. William Harbester
    Interim Dean
    Pharmacy, Experiential Education 
    (410) 651-6120
    waharbester@umes.edu
     boyle Dr. Cynthia Boyle
    Chair
    Pharmacy Practice & Administration
    (410) 651- 7664
    cjboyle@umes.edu    
           

    Library Services  

       Ms. Adrienne C. Webber
    Dean
    acwebber@umes.edu

    Mrs. Marvella Rounds 
    (410) 651- 7697
    mrounds@umes.edu 


    Mrs. Sharon Brooks 
    (410) 651- 6275
    sdbrooks@umes.edu