Pharmacy professor appointed to new leadership post

  • Tuesday, July 21, 2015

    Dr.Latasha WadePRINCESS ANNE, MD- (July 21, 2015) - Dr. Latasha Wade, an assistant professor in UMES' School of Pharmacy, is moving to the university's academic policymaking office to serve as Interim Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives.

    In announcing the appointment Monday, Dr. Patrick Liverpool, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, noted Wade's "exemplary work as Interim Chair of Pharmacy Practice (and Administration), and her effective leadership as Chair of the (UMES) Senate's Academic Affairs Committee" as experiences she can draw on in her duties as a senior administrator.

    Liverpool said Wade will be responsible for leading and supporting efforts related to faculty training and continuing education, forging partnerships and developing academic programs with community colleges, academic program assessment, monitoring of the academic affairs strategic plan and other tasks assigned by the Provost.

    She earned a Bachelor of Arts in economics (2003) and a Bachelor of Science in microbiology (2003) from the University of Maryland College Park, and a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Maryland Baltimore School of Pharmacy (2007). She did post-graduate pharmacy residency training at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill's Eshelman School of Pharmacy (2010).

    Wade, who joined the UMES faculty in July 2014, has held positions in a variety of pharmacy-practice areas, including community pharmacy, managed care, geriatrics and higher education. Her academic experience includes serving as chair of the Department of Pharmacy and Health Professions and Director of the UNC-Chapel Hill's Doctor of Pharmacy Partnership Program at Elizabeth City State University and Regional Assistant Dean of the Elizabeth City satellite campus with the UNC School of Pharmacy.

    She has been recognized for her leadership and dedication to the pharmacy profession, her community and students, including the inaugural UMES Pharmacy Student Government Association Student Advocate award earlier this year, the 2009 and 2011 National Pharmaceutical Association's (NPhA) Young Pharmacist Award, the Terrence Burroughs Pharmacy Leadership Award (2008), and induction into the Beta Lambda chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma (PLS) Pharmacy Leadership Society (2006).

    Wade is active in the NPhA and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). She is a former member of the board of directors for the Association of Black Health-System Pharmacists (ABHP) and a former executive committee member of NPhA.

    Bill Robinson, director, Office of Public Relations, (410) 621-2355