Administrator's Message & Faculty Directory

  • Message

    A Message from the 1890 Administrator:

    Dr. Maifan SilitongaUniversity of Maryland Extension programming at the UMES covers six specific areas that address the expressed needs of our local community. Our Small Farm Outreach Program serves farmers in Southern Maryland and all along the Delmarva Peninsula with educational programs and training, technical assistance, and other outreach activities. Our Nutrition and Health Program helps families, by targeting children and adults alike, to gain knowledge and skills in nutrition, meal planning, food buying, and fitness to help combat critical health concerns like childhood obesity and diabetes.


    Our Alternative and Small Scale Agriculture Program coordinates research and Extension outreach for local and regional growers and technical specialist that focus on the development of alternative agriculture technologies and marketing strategies that help maintain small family farm operations. For adding economic value to seafood, ensuring the safety of aquacultured products, and guaranteeing seafood safety and quality, UME at UMES has partnered with the University of Maryland Sea Grant Extension Program to deal with some of the immediate needs and challenges of the seafood industry.

    Positive youth development programming that involves citizenship education, civic engagement, service learning for youth, youth-adult partnerships, volunteer development for teens and adults, and experiential leadership experiences for youth and adults is offered via our 4-H Youth and Adult Leadership Development program. Lastly, our Rural Development Center provides assistance to counties, communities, and businesses by increasing income, employment, and the local tax base.

    As the needs of our community evolve, so does the UME programming here at UMES. Our Extension personnel are second to none.

    “Among the 17 states that have both 1862 (traditionally white) and 1890 (historically black) land-grant universities, Maryland is unique in combining its Extension programs into one, virtually seamless organization.”


    Dr. Maifan Silitonga,

    Associate Extension Administrator for 1890 Programs

    Directory

    Extension Faculty & Staff

    Dr. Maifan Silitonga
    Associate Extension Administrator for 1890 Programs
    2122 Richard A. Henson Center, Princess Anne, MD 21853
    Phone: (410) 651-6206
    Fax: (410) 651-6207
    Email:  mrsilitonga@umes.edu



    Dr. Nadine Burton
    Farm Management Specialist
     
    410-651-8353  nmburton@umes.edu
     
    Mia Carlotta
    Administrative Assistant, EFNEP

    410-651-6218 macarlotta1@umes.edu


    Nicole Cook
    Legal Environmental Specialist

    410-651-6182  nlcook@umes.edu

    McCoy Curtis
    EFNEP Educator
     
    410-651-7729  mbcurtis@umes.edu 
    Mark Demorra
    4-H STEM Associate - Somerset County 
    410-651-1350 


    mdemorra@umd.edu 


    Dr. Enrique Nelson Escobar
    Small Ruminant Specialist and Assistant Professor 

    410-651-7930  enescobar@umes.edu 

    Nicole Harris
    EFNEP Educator 

    410-651-7729  neharris1@umes.edu

    Bradley Hartle
    4-H STEM Agent Associate - Wicomico County 

    410-749-6141  bhartle1@umd.edu 

    Emily Hitchcock
    EFNEP Educator
     
    410-651-7729  evhitchcock@umes.edu 


    Henry Jackson
    Agricultural Technician 

    410-651-7729  hjackson@umes.edu

    Susan Jayne
    Extension Nutrition Asst.
    and EFNEP Educator 

    410-651-7729 sbjayne@umes.edu
    Dominique Jones
    Administrative Assistant
    Paul S. Sarbanes Coastal
    Ecology Center 
    410-651-8697 dajones4@umes.edu

    Muhammad Khan
    Faculty Research Asst.
    EFNEP 

    410-651-8330 mhkhan@umes.edu
     
    Patricia King
    Administrative Program Assistant
    UMES Small Farms Program

    410-651-6070 

     

    pjking@umes.edu 


    Dr. Catherine Liu
    Extension Specialist
    Seafood Technology

    410-651-6636 ccliu@umes.edu

    Erroll Mattox 
    Farm Management Specialist

    410-651-7733 eamattox@umes.edu


    Lisa Morgan
    Administrative Assistant !

    410-651-6206  ljmorgan@umes.edu 

    Lisa Murphy
    4-H STEM Associate - Worcester County 

    410-632-1972  lmurphy@umd.edu 


    Dr. Fnu Naveenkumar
    Extension Specialist,
    Horticulture & Assistant Professor 

    410-651-3650 fnaveenkumar@umes.edu

    Nachell Reid

    Administrative Assistant 

    410-651-6210 nbreid@umes.edu

    Berran Rogers
    Coordinator, Small Farms

    Program & Project Director,
    Outreach for Socially Disadvantaged
    Farmers and Ranchers Project 

    410-651-6693 blrogers@umes.edu

    Michael Sigrist 
    Farm Management
    Specialist

    410-651-8353 mpsigrist@umes.edu

    Tysha Staten
    Business Manager 

    410-651-6183

     

    trstaten@umes.edu 


    Suzanne Street 
    Coordinator & Agriculture
    Communication Specialist 

    410-651-6084 sstreet@umes.edu

    Virginie Zoumenou 
    Professor, State Extension 
    Nutrition Specialist & 1890 
    Nutrition & Health Program 
    Leader

     

    410-651-6212 vmzoumenou@umes.edu