Administrator's Message & Faculty Directory

  • Message

    A Message from the 1890 Administrator:

    UMES Extension programming covers four specific areas that address the expressed needs of our local community. Our Small Farm Outreach and Small Ruminant Programs serves farmers in Southern Maryland and all along the Delmarva Peninsula with educational programs and training, technical assistance, and other outreach activities. Our Nutrition and Health Program helps families, by targeting children and adults alike, to gain knowledge and skills in nutrition, meal planning, food buying, and fitness to help combat critical health concerns like childhood obesity and diabetes.

    Our Alternative and Small Scale Agriculture Program coordinates research and Extension outreach for local and regional growers and technical specialist that focus on the development of alternative agriculture technologies and marketing strategies that help maintain small family farm operations. 

    Positive youth development programming that involves citizenship education, civic engagement, service learning for youth, youth-adult partnerships, volunteer development for teens and adults, and experiential leadership experiences for youth and adults is offered via our 4-H STEM and Youth Development program. 

    As the needs of our community evolve, so does UMES Extension programming. Our Extension personnel are second to none.

    “Among the 17 states that have both 1862 (traditionally white) and 1890 (historically black) land-grant universities, Maryland is unique in combining its Extension programs into one, virtually seamless organization.”


    Directory

    Extension Faculty & Staff

    Dr. Moses T. Kairo, DIC
    Dean, School of Agricultural and Natural Sciences
    Director of 1890 Land Grant Programs
    Administrator, UMES Extension
    3055 Hazel Hall, Princess Anne, MD 21853
    Phone: (410) 651-6072
    Fax: (410) 621-3550
    Email:  mkairo@umes.edu



    Dr. Nadine Burton
    Farm Management Specialist
     
    410-651-8353  nmburton@umes.edu
     

    Administrative Assistant, EFNEP

    410-651-6218  


    Nicole Cook
    Legal Environmental Specialist

    410-651-6182  nlcook@umes.edu

    McCoy Curtis
    EFNEP Educator
     
    410-651-7729  mbcurtis@umes.edu 
    Mark Demorra
    4-H STEM Associate - Somerset County 
    410-651-1350 


    mdemorra@umd.edu 


    Dr. Enrique Nelson Escobar
    Small Ruminant Specialist and Assistant Professor 

    410-651-7930  enescobar@umes.edu 


    EFNEP Educator 

    410-651-7729   

    Bradley Hartle
    4-H STEM Agent Associate - Wicomico County 

    410-749-6141  bhartle1@umd.edu 

    Emily Hitchcock
    EFNEP Educator
     
    410-651-7729  evhitchcock@umes.edu 


    Henry Jackson
    Agricultural Technician 

    410-651-7729  hjackson@umes.edu

    Susan Jayne
    Extension Nutrition Asst.
    and EFNEP Educator 

    410-651-7729 sbjayne@umes.edu
    Dominique Jones
    Administrative Assistant
    Paul S. Sarbanes Coastal
    Ecology Center 
    410-651-8697 dajones4@umes.edu

    Muhammad Khan
    Faculty Research Asst.
    EFNEP 

    410-651-8330 mhkhan@umes.edu
     

    Administrative Program Assistant
    UMES Small Farms Program

    410-651-6070 

     

     


    Erroll Mattox 
    Farm Management Specialist

    410-651-7733 eamattox@umes.edu


    Lisa Morgan
    Administrative Assistant I

    410-651-6206  ljmorgan@umes.edu 

    Lisa Murphy
    4-H STEM Associate - Worcester County 

    410-632-1972  lmurphy@umd.edu 


    Dr. Naveen Kumar
    Extension Specialist,
    Horticulture & Assistant Professor 

    410-651-3650 fnaveenkumar@umes.edu

    Administrative Assistant 


    410-651-6210

     

    Berran Rogers
    Coordinator, Small Farms

    Program & Project Director,
    Outreach for Socially Disadvantaged
    Farmers and Ranchers Project 

    410-651-6693 blrogers@umes.edu

    Michael Sigrist 
    Farm Management
    Specialist

    410-651-8353 mpsigrist@umes.edu

    Tysha Staten
    Business Manager 

    410-651-6183

     

    trstaten@umes.edu 


    Suzanne Street 
    Coordinator & Agriculture
    Communication Specialist 

    410-651-6084 sstreet@umes.edu

    Virginie Zoumenou 
    Professor, State Extension 
    Nutrition Specialist & 1890 
    Nutrition & Health Program 
    Leader

     

    410-651-6212 vmzoumenou@umes.edu